On the Daily: Finding Magic in the Minutia

Breakout Session

Description

How was your day today? Within the tedium of this question are the seeds for an essay, a book, or even many essays and books. In this breakout session, we will explore how studying the so-called mundane, forgettable, daily details of our lives can unfold in unexpected, generative ways. In our to-do lists and sleepless nights, writers at any level can find patterns, obsessions, forgotten histories, buried stories. In the tradition of Sonya Huber and Ross Gay, we will show you that you do not need the extraordinary to find your subjects—you already have the extraordinary within the ordinary.

View Slides [pptx]

Topics

Presenters

  • Jill Kolongowski

    Jill Kolongowski is the author of the book Life Lessons Harry Potter Taught Me; other essays have appeared in Brevity, the Los Angeles Review of Books, River Teeth, and elsewhere. She is an assistant professor at the College of San Mateo.

  • Amy Monticello

    Amy Monticello is the author of two nonfiction chapbooks, Close Quarters and How to Euthanize a Horse. Other essays have appeared in many literary journals. She is an associate professor at Suffolk University in Boston, Massachusetts.